Dallas Librarian to Chair American Library Association Book Awards Committee

Peter Coyl, a Librarian with Dallas Public Library, has been named chair of the 2014 stonewall_logoAmerican Library Association’s Stonewall Book Awards Committee. The Stonewall Book Awards are given to books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender experience. It is the oldest and most enduring award for GLBT literature.

On Wednesday, June 12 from 12-1, he will be speaking at the Central Library on last year’s winners as part of the Lunch and Learn speaker series.

First awarded in 1971, the Stonewall Book Awards comprises three separate awards: the Barbara Gittings Literature Award, the Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award, and the Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award. Given under the auspices of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Round Table, the Stonewall Book Awards are official awards of the American Library Association.DallasPrideLogo

The winners of the 2014 Stonewall Book Awards will be announced at the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting to be held January 24-28, 2014 in Philadelphia, PA.

This entry was posted in community, events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.