The Dallas Cowboys made it to the playoffs again this year and had the strongest regular season record of any team in the NFL. Are there any good books that can tell me about the history of “America’s Team?”

With all the excitement around this year’s Dallas Cowboys 13-3 season (which ties them for their all-time season record and made them the NFL’s number 1 team going into the playoffs), it is a good time to delve into the history of “America’s Team.” Here are a few titles that you might find interesting:

Sports Illustrated Dallas Cowboys 50 Years of Football

Published in 2010 to coincide with the Dallas Cowboys 50th anniversary, this book discusses the major highlights of Cowboy history. It delves into the 5 Super Bowl victories as well as major players in each decade.


Cowboys Chronicles: A Complete History of the Dallas Cowboys

For a detailed history of the Dallas Cowboys, look no further. This title covers every game of every season (up through 2009) giving the score and the highlights of each game. It includes a discussion of every Super Bowl appearance and a tally of each season’s win/loss record.


Cotton Bowl Days: Growing Up With the Cowboys In The 1960s

A personal memoir of someone who grew up watching the Dallas Cowboys at the Cotton Bowl during their formative years in the 1960s. It gives a glimpse of the growth of the team prior to their national status and Super Bowl winning years.

Where Have All Our Cowboys Gone?

This book is primarily a collection of “where are they now” type stories focusing on the lives of former members of the Dallas Cowboys from the early 1960s to the mid-1990s.


To celebrate the Dallas Cowboys’ very successful season, the Central Downtown Branch of the Dallas Public Library created a display of Dallas Cowboys memorabilia and autographs from some former players. Staff also took the opportunity to show their Dallas Cowboys pride!


The former players featured in the display include:

Bob Breunig-Linebacker (1975-1984)

James Jones-Running Back (1980-1985)

Jim Jeffcoat-Defensive End (1983-1994)

Chan Gailey-Head Coach (1998-1999)

Ebenezer Ekuban-Defensive End (1999-2003)

This entry was posted in reference question, sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.