Category Archives: databases

I received an Around the Library newsletter and noticed that you now offer Lynda.com to Dallas Public Library resident card holders. How can I sign up? How can Lynda.com help me?

Lynda.com is a 20-year-old organization dedicated to helping people learn new skills and enhance existing ones. Courses focus mainly on business, technology, and creativity and are taught by the leading professionals in that field. It’s used by several leading organizations … Continue reading

Posted in databases, reference question | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

I’m interested in auto repair and small engines. What does the library offer that can help me?

Our collection of dealer repair manuals and online databases is one of the highlights of the Business and Technology Division, located on the 5th floor of the J. Erik Jonsson Central Library. We have an extensive collection of repair manuals … Continue reading

Posted in databases, reference question | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on I’m interested in auto repair and small engines. What does the library offer that can help me?

I’m looking for data about Dallas. Where do I start?

Whether you’re looking for information for a business plan, grant application, or research project – or you just want to know more about the place where you live – there are a wealth of resources available online and in the … Continue reading

Posted in business, community, databases, eResources, government information, reference question | Tagged , , , , , | Comments Off on I’m looking for data about Dallas. Where do I start?

I’m starting my own business. How can I find my target market and who my competitors are?

If you have industry research questions for your new or established business, consulting with the B.R.A.I.N. staff is a good place to start. The Dallas Business Resource And Information Network (B.R.A.I.N) is a partnership between Dallas’ Office of Economic Development … Continue reading

Posted in business, databases, eResources, reference question | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on I’m starting my own business. How can I find my target market and who my competitors are?

I’d love to do some volunteering, but there are so many possibilities, I feel overwhelmed. Can the Library help me narrow down the options?

During the holidays, people often begin to think of how they can serve others. The recent book A Path Appears (also a documentary film) details the incredible impact individuals can have when they devote time to service. There are many … Continue reading

Posted in community, databases, eResources, reference question, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on I’d love to do some volunteering, but there are so many possibilities, I feel overwhelmed. Can the Library help me narrow down the options?