Business & Technology
The following business electronic resources are available on Business and Technology Division workstations on the 5th Floor of the Central Library:
|
| Best's Insurance Reports - Life/Health
Covers U.S. and Canadian life/health companies. Along with Best's financial strength rating for the companies listed, reports may include brief corporate history, management, financial information, investment data, premium and reserve analysis, and other information.
|
|
| Dow Theory Letters (investment newsletter)
Richard Russell's widely followed newsletter covers the U.S. stock market, foreign markets, bonds, precious metals, commodities, and economics.
|
|
| Hoover's Business Information
Hoovers database includes over 65 million companies and 85 million people, with worldwide coverage. Companies with most complete coverage may include products and operations, financial information, stock quotes and earnings estimates, competitor information, and more. Build a List feature allows screening by more than 50 selection criteria.
|
The following business electronic resources are available at all Dallas Public Library locations, and remotely to Dallas Public Library cardholders.
|
| Business Source Complete (Login Required - click here to access your account)
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
|
|
| Enhanced Business Search Interface (Login Required - click here to access your account)
Using this tool, you can search by keyword, company, industry, publication, author or subject. You may also choose to browse company profiles, country reports, industry profiles or market research reports.
|
|
| Morningstar Investment Research Center (Login Required - click here to access your account)
Morningstar provides access to information about stocks and educate individuals interested in investment and evaluating their stock portfolio.
|
| ReferenceUSA (Login Required - click here to access your account)
Business Module: Over 14 million businesses. Data includes: Company Name, Address , Phone Number, Fax Number, Estimated Sales Volume, Number of Employees, Type of Business (SIC Code or Yellow Page Heading), Key Contact Names, Titles and Gender, Credit Rating Code, Company Financials, Stock Information, Public Filings, and News Headlines/Articles from over 900 different sources.
|
|
| Regional Business News (Login Required - click here to access your account)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
|
|
| Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage(Login Required - click here to access your account)
is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to popular Standard & Poor's research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports among others.
|
|
| The Wall Street Journal via Newspaper Source(Login Required - click here to access your account)
(Eastern Edition) index is searchable through the EBSCO database Newspaper Source, accessible by specifying “Wall Street Journal” for the Publication field in the Newspaper Source search interface. (Note: The database provides citations only and not full text. The library’s Business & Technology Division on the 5th floor of the Central Library provides access to the complete Eastern Edition, with older editions retained on microfilm back to 1889).
|
The following technology and science electronic resources are available on Business and Technology Division workstations on the 5th Floor of the Central Library:
|
| AllData Online (automotive repair)
Comprehensive source of automotive diagnosis and repair information. Vehicle-specific information including service and repair procedures, factory correct diagrams, labor times and factory part numbers, and component locations.
|
|
| Oil and Gas Journal
Petroleum industry trade publication providing news, technical articles, and statistics on exploration and production, processing, pipelines and other transportation means, refining, and marketing. Available in the Nancy and Jake L. Hamon Oil and Gas Resource Center
|
|
| Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Conference Proceedings
Electronic versions of proceedings from SPE's Drilling Conference, Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition, and several SPE symposiums including Gas Technology Symposium, Hydrocarbon Economics and Evaluation Symposium, Improved Oil Recovery Symposium, International Symposium on Oilfield Chemistry, Production and Operation Symposium, and Reservoir Simulation Symposium. Coverage begins in 2000, some earlier editions available in paper format. Available in the Nancy and Jake L. Hamon Oil and Gas Resource Center
|
The following technology and science electronic resources are available at all Dallas Public Library locations, and remotely to Dallas Public Library cardholders.
|
| Science & Technology Collection (Login Required - click here to access your account)
The Science & Technology Collection contains over 820 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 publications.
|
|
| Computer Source (Login Required - click here to access your account)
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
|
|
| Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts (Login Required - click here to access your account)
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (formerly Microcomputer Abstracts) provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development and more.
|
|
| Consumer Health Complete (Login Required - click here to access your account)
This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. Includes both mainstream and wholistic approaches.
|
|
| Health Source: Consumer Edition (Login Required - click here to access your account)
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
|
|
| Health Source: Nursing/Academic (Login Required - click here to access your account)
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
|
|
| Medline (Login Required - click here to access your account)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
|