|
|
| Welcome | Log In | |
Improve your research experience by learning about our genealogy databases using the links provided for each one. Knowing how to use the databases and what unique resources each one offers will help insure the best use of your valuable research time.
Some of the databases may be accessed from your home computer using your Dallas Public Library card to log in. These databases are marked by an asterisk (*). Others may be used free of charge only in the library, and some may require no login at all. The level of access is noted for each database, but all of them may be accessed free of charge in the Genealogy Section of the Dallas Public Library.
[Free in-library use only]
Ancestry Library Edition provides unprecedented access to family history via documents
that record the lineage of individuals from North America, the U.K., Europe, Australia,
and more. Ancestry Library Edition, the world's most popular consumer online
genealogy resource, includes more than 7,000 databases of family information available
to you via the library. The links below may help you become a better user of this
important database.
[Login Required --
click here to access your account]
The Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (1885-1977) is a unique
genealogical and historical collection featuring digital facsimiles of newspaper issues
that document major events in Texas, as reported by this leading metropolitan daily
newspaper. This archive is a valuable resource for genealogical research, providing
obituaries, marriage and birth announcements, biographical sketches and much more. The
text is fully searchable from cover to cover, and researchers can browse by date and
topic or view PDFs of full pages or individual articles, photos, graphics, maps,
political cartoons, editorials, obituaries, display and classified advertisements,
recipes -- indeed the complete content of each issue of this renowned newspaper for
nearly 100 years.
Currently available in The Historical Dallas Morning News:
Date range of issues:
Earliest issue: October 01, 1885
Latest issue: December 31, 1977
Note: Issues published within the date range may be missing.
[a part of the
Dallas Morning News Archive subscription]
This is the largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death
notices. Extensive editorial review of all newspaper sections ensures thorough
selection of obituaries for easy access. An easy-to-use interface allows searching by
name, date range, or text such as institutional name, social affiliation(s), geographic
location(s), philanthropic activities, etc.
The Handbook of Texas Online is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association. Free access (click here).
[ back to the top ]
[Login Required --
click here to access your account]
HeritageQuest Online provides libraries with a unique and growing collection of
research materials for genealogists and historians. It includes the digitized UMI
Genealogy & Local History Collection, 1790-1930 U.S. Federal Census, the Periodical
Source Index (PERSI), the Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application
Files, the Freedman's Bank records and Private Relief Actions, and Memorials and
Petitions from the Lexis Nexis® U.S. Serial Set. This premiere genealogy database
is distributed exclusively by ProQuest to the library market and is an excellent
complement to Ancestry Library Edition.
[Login Required --
click here to access your account]
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and
academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for genealogists, local
historians, and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of
American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data
that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. The maps also
give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and
house and block numbers.
[Login Required --
click here to access your account]
OCLC WorldCat® (the OCLC Online Union Catalog) (WorldCat®)
OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
WorldCat® is a registered trademark and is used with the permission of OCLC and the OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Inc.
[ back to the top ]* Indicates free remote access with valid Dallas Public Library card. Access to all databases is free in the genealogy section. No library card is required.
** All registered trademark product logos used with permission.
[ back to the top ]